Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Help with Ultegra Shifters

Hi I am new to road biking. I have quite a basic question about the number of clicks to change gear. My new bike has Ultegra 6800 shifters. I am finding that to move to a bigger cog at the back (ie up a gear) I need to push the right shifter so it clicks twice not once. If I only move it one click it tries to move but then drops back down. I have tried adjusting the barrel adjuster as I feel like it should only need one click but am having no success. Have I misunderstand as two clicks seems to work. I would very much appreciate the advice of those with more experience!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

21 comments

Deepreddave | 4 years ago
2 likes

Thanks everyone. LBS sorted it.... cable tightened and adjustment to limit screws.

joeegg | 4 years ago
1 like

I would go back to the basics. Put the chain on the smallest ring at the back.Loosen the cable clamp.Look to see that the rear mech is over the small ring.Turn in the barrel adjuster 'til it stops then a few turns out. Pull cable tight and tighten the clamp. Try the changer. If it doesn't change out of the small ring with one click then try the barrel adjuster outward or undo clamp and pull cable tight.Once you've got it moving with one click off the small ring you can use the barrel adjuster to fine tune it up the cassette.

1 like

Yes that's what's worrying me. Thanks for all your time though.

Hirsute | 4 years ago
0 likes

Sounds like you tried a few things but need someone to see it in situ.
I wonder if some part of the derailleur is out of line from a knock.

0 likes