Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Are Gear Cable Ferrules "Strictly" Necessary

Hi all,

I am a forum newbie and have been riding a B'Twin Triban 500 SE for  just over 18 months, so also a relative road biking beginner.

I had to have the left Microshift shifter on my bike replaced under guarantee, and the version of the new shifter is slightly different to the old. The new shifter housing did not accept a barrel adjuster, so the Decathlon bike mechanic very reasonably used an inline adjuster on the outer cable. The right shifter still uses its original barrel adjuster, so the only small downside of the current situation is a feng shui issue with the cockpit's looks :). I have a couple of options:

1) Just chill and accept the status quo.

2) Add an inline adjuster to the right shifter's outer gear cable and dial in the barrel adjuster all the way to the housing. This will mean the inline adjuster does the work and the barrel adjuster is redundant, but the barrel adjuster will nonetheless still be a little de trop. Yes, I know I am being very picky.

3) My preferred option is to add an inline adjuster to the right shifter's outer gear cable and remove the barrel adjuster completely. This will be the neatest look for the cockpit, but it would mean that I have to lose the ferrule on the gear cable, because the threaded hole in the housing that holds the barrel adjuster is too narrow to accept a ferrule. It will only accept an outer cable without a ferrule.

My question is, can you experienced forum members think of any bad things that can happen to my right shifter due to its outer cable not having a ferrule where the cable sits in the shifter housing? I did check out Calvin Jones on the Park Tool videos on YouTube and also Sheldon Brown. Both these sources say that some shifters' designs do not accept ferrules in the housing and in these cases you do not have to use a ferrule.