Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Look Keo Cleats Grip vs Non-Grip

I am a beginner and although this is my second proper bike, my first bike was mine only for a few rides... as such cleats and such are brand new to me...

The second hand bike I just bought came with Look KEO2MAX pedals. I wrongly assumed Shimano cleats would work with it. My intention is to opt for Look cleats in grey with 4.5 degree of movement, since 9 degree/red seems a bit too much and 0 degree/black seems a little drastic.

Now, to decide either Keo Grip or Keo Cleat. If I understand correctly, Grip means you can walk in them, or sort of. Since I don't want to walk in them, just ride, I figure to get the Non-Grip ones, but they are really hard to get hold of for me. Which ones to the pros use (at least this would give me an idea)? The non-grip are still listed on Look's website.

Please help

Andy

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

Nick T | 4 years ago
0 likes

I was getting a decent amount of pain in my left knee that stopped after going zero float. It also solved the problem of my left shoe scratching against the crank arm, shudder to think what I'd have gone through with Speedplay pedals

Boatsie | 4 years ago
0 likes

Ever stretched the minor muscles? Such as 1 big toe up, 1 big toe down? Four toes are held from follow.
Similar is a cleated bicycle. (Depending upon view).
I like red cleats because my alignment is out and I don't need to bother cleaning them and realigning. Left heel can rub frame yet is often ridden on outer of give, right foot pretty much spot on centre.
I find when riding that if looking at spin angles, top dead centre, forward 90°, bottom 180° lifting 270°. I start concentrating about 180° and let quads finish when strain lessens, eg around 45 °60 ° somewhere near there.