Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Hi Everyone, New member new hybrid bike build.

Hi, Ive just joined the site and i'm hoping to get some advice on a first attempt at building a hybrid bike. My background is a toolmaker for 40+ years working on all aspects of the job including building robotic machines, I'm 5'5" with an inside leg of 27" arm length to middle of palm 21". My primary reason for the buid is to build my core strength up as I have a back problem and my consultant has suggested cycling as a good method to achieve this, obviously having the back problem means I need a situp and beg style of riding. Where I live its pretty flat so no hill climbs, I'd like a seat with shock absorber and 2x9 to 2x11 gearing no front or rear shocks and i'm not sure on the brake type I'd also like a removable light weight rack for my paniers, manufacturer and best place to buy would be helpful to. The main priority is light weight, I have a budget of around £400 maybe a bit more if I get exactly what I want. On a side note you can call me Trev or Pigz it doesn't matter I've been called alot worse than anything you can think of lol. here's hoping someone can help.

Cheers

Trev/Pigz

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

8 comments

Boatsie | 4 years ago
0 likes

You're awesome.
That'll work.
(Looks like a sail at the moment).
Raining tonight. Tommorow a tool load. Hoping I can tool bottom of panniers, clothes above, dry sack on rack and back pack to stack excess. It'll be tight.

Thinking of bike build. Not sure if useful.
I bought a vintage racer. 1990? 50 quid.
Quill stem, 7 speed, 10.5 kg.

Looking at modifications towards longterm commuter, traveling companion..
Here's what I found as plan of attack.
Non composite build. Aiming 8 kg. Be super stoked if under 10kg hence cruisy/lazy in my own time building.