Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Flat mount brake mounting

Hello everyone!

Happy to be a part of this awesome community. I have a question I'm hoping to get some clarity with.

I have a 2020 All City Macho King ACE that I've built out and am loving it! I'm new to this flat mount disc brake world and this frame calls for those. I purchased SRAM Rival flat mount calipers and the approrpriate front and rear mounting brackets (here's the brackets I ordered, for front and rear: https://www.competitivecyclist.com/sram-flat-mount-caliper-bracket). My rear brake is good to go, but my front is stumping me a bit. I have a 160mm rotor with a 160mm mounting bracket. However, when I attach the caliper to the mounting bracket and then to my fork the rotor rubs on the metal part. So I had to install some spacers that go between the fork and mounting bracket. But everytime I'm a little heavy on the front brake, my entire front end will pulsate and after each ride I have to re-adjust the caliper as I get brake rub. I've got the screws torqued to 6nm, but ultimately I don't know if having thoser spacers on there might wear a dent into them or is even the correct way to install the caliper. Shouldn't the rotor fit with the correct bracket? Attached are some photos of how I have things setup, so any help or direction would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

IMAGES LINK:

https://imgur.com/a/syUyhbj

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

Pilot Pete | 4 years ago
0 likes

Excellent, enjoy!

PP

timallday | 4 years ago
1 like

Hey everyone!