Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Roadie newbie - winter wheels etc

Ok whats the deal with you roadie fellas having winter wheels, bikes etc. I'm new to this stuff but been mountainbiking from so long ago i try not to think about it (makes me realise how old i am now !!) As a mountainbiker, I ride the same bikes all year round - no matter what the weather with no problems - just clean & re-lube. I've only got one road bike (quite a nice one-imo)- are my wheels so crap that i shouldn't use them in wet weather (fulcrum 3's btw) Is my campy centaur going to disintergrate when it gets a bit dirty.
Go on shed some light on this - educate me
TA- Simon

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Blackhound | 15 years ago
0 likes

My second bike is a Cotic Roadrat. Flatbarred as I rarely use the drops with mostly nearly new s/hand 105 on it.

Wheels are either Easton Vista's which cost me £100 over on www.veloriders.co.uk last winter or some cheaper Ksyriums someone was going to throw out. I use them as a spare!

Don't go to cheap - look for quality second hand is my advice.

cactuscat | 15 years ago
0 likes

for mtbers to have another bike for the really bad conditions. i have: a rigid singlespeed that gets pulled out if it's too gloopy, cause it's easier to clean and doesn't go wrong. I only use my 'good' bike in winter if i'm going to somewhere like cwmcarn where i know the trails'll be okay. lots of winter trainers are fixies too for pretty much the same reason, plus you get a really good workout riding one gear.

road bikes can be expensive and the salt on british roads in the winter can ruin them surprisingly quickly - salt's the real killer. say you've got Dura-Ace and your drivetrain only lasts for two winters, you could buy a whole winter bike for the cost of replacing it...