Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cube vs Giant Liv (first road bike)

Hi, 
Looking for some advice.

I've been cycling a Trek FX2 Disk since May 2020. I love it but I wouldn't mind looking at upgrading to a road bike. 

I cycle about 15-20km about 3-4 times a week but would like to get into cycling further distances. I also use the bike for day to day commuting, too.

I've also never cycled a road bike before, so this would be my first one. So I have pretty basic knowledge of them. Are they only decent for cycling long distances or would it be ok to use as a day-to-day commuter, too? 

Bike supplies in my local shops are running low at the moment, so my two options are: 

https://www.cube.eu/2021/bikes/road/road-race/attain/cube-attain-race-blacknwhite/

Or

https://www.liv-cycling.com/ie/avail-sl-2-disc-2020

Any recommendations on which I should choose from the two bikes above would be much appreciated. Is there much of a difference between the two? 

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

4 comments

Simon E | 2 years ago
0 likes

Both will surely be excellent bikes and seem to have similar specs and gearing.

Fit is more important than anything else so check that the shop has (or can get) the model in the correct size for you.

If that doesn't seal it then choose the one that you like the most. That might sound trite but I think this is a more important factor than some people would have you believe.

Don't forget a good quality lock as sadly bike theft has increased significantly since the start of the lockdown 12 months ago.

Mathemagician | 2 years ago
0 likes