Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Going tubeless

After a period of riding clinchers, I am looking to go tubeless to reduce my risk of punctures (particularly as I will be riding lots of Yorkshire cobbles in preparation for the Ronde Van Calderdale sportive), as well as save weight and improve my speed and comfort on the bike.

I just wondered what I need to make the conversion? The wheels on my Boardman SLR 8.6 are tubeless ready, so that's a start, but how straightforward is it to make the change to tubeless?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

35 comments

Dicklexic | 3 years ago
1 like

I have been using tubeless tyres for over 5 years now, and have no plans to go back to tubes. Admittedly my experience is with using only one set of wheels and one brand of tyre, so maybe I got lucky, but I have had no reasons whatsoever to doubt my choice. I did help a friend set her bike up with tubeless and had some difficulty fitting both tyres, then seating and inflating one of the tyres, but that was on some Reynolds carbon rims. Thumbs were quite sore by the time we'd finished. With my wheels they are the easiest ones to fit of ANY wheels and tyres I have ever used.