Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

If a rim has 27.5mm outside width, should I be using 25c or 28c?

My initial thought was 28c, and indeed I ordered those when I ordered the wheels, but I now read that 28c tyres tend to measure 29/30mm (these are GP 5000 TL), and that from an aerodynamics point of view my 50mm deep rims might be rendered a bit moot if the tyre is wider than the rim.

So is 25c the right choice?  It's what I've been running for a few years, and I have no problems with comfort or pinchflats.  I tend to run 80ish in the back and 65ish in the front.

I'm a loser who's more interested in going fast than being comfortable, what size should I have?

I know the theory behind wider tyres rolling faster on anything other than glass-smooth surfaces, but then there's the aero side to consider.

What wins, on 50mm deep 27.5mm wide rims - 28c, or 25c?

Thanks!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

Welsh boy | 3 years ago
0 likes

Is everything else on your bike, body, position and clothing so perfect that you are worried about 3mm differences in tyre width for day to day riding on normal road surfaces? I think you might be worrying too much about changes you probably won't notice in the real world. 

wycombewheeler | 3 years ago
0 likes

http://engineerstalk.mavic.com/en/the-right-tyre-width-on-the-right-rim-...

whats the internal width? according to Mavic a 25mm tyre should not be fitted to a rim with internal width 22mm or greater. Going through the comments Mavic state that the table displayed is as per the ETRTO recomendations in the process of being agreed by wheel and tyre suppliers. (as of 2019)