Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Used road bike recommendations: £500

Hi folks! Some kn*b stole my Btwin Triban 3 in London last week. It was a lovely bike. I don't know a great deal about road or racer bikes but I'm looking for general ballpark recommendations for road bike recs for under £500. The triban had an aluminium frame and carbon forks so was pretty light and I'd love to get something similarly light (or lighter!). I use my bike for getting to work and the odd big cycle (did Brighton-London last year). If poss, I'm looking for an upgrade on the Triban.

At the moment I'm thinking about a Specialized Allez of some kind. But really open as I'm NOT an expert! Just trying to get a picture of what I should be looking for with that kind of money. Thank you all so much! Really miss having a bike 😅

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

5 comments

Grahamd | 1 year ago
0 likes

Some good advice already, I would factor in some leeway in your budget for maintenance.

To give some context, the cost for me to replace some items on my old bike this year including bottom bracket, new chain, brake cables, inner chain ring, tyres and one brake calliper this year, approx £270. On what I consider a well maintained bike, that is probably only worth £500.

jollygoodvelo | 1 year ago
1 like

I agree with the other posts about checking wheels and drivetrain - safety critical items.  And especially with the shortage of drivetrain components, worth making sure it all works properly.  Also, don't forget that fit is important!

During lockdown I accidentally bought a Cannondale Synapse and have put 2000km on it.  A set of Vision 30 wheels made it feel like a new bike for £130.

This seems worth a look though - perhaps too cheap almost, check if they have the original receipt... https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/144552178540

IanMSpencer | 1 year ago
4 likes