Like this site? Help us to make it better.


British Cycling's great and good honoured at the Palace

HRH Prince of Wales dishes out the gongs to Hoy & co

It was a two-wheeled procession at Buckingham Palace today as four-times Olympic Gold medallist Sir Chris Hoy received his Knighthood from Prince Charles for his services to the sport of cycling, and six other members of British Cycling, ranging from elite riders to a volunteer, also collected their Honours. The seven are among 21 members of British Cycling who were honoured in the Queen's New Year list.

British Cycling’s Performance Director Dave Brailsford (pictured above) was made Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) after bringing home 34 medals from the Beijing Olympic and Paralympic Games last year. Bradley Wiggins also received a CBE, and sprint gold medallists Victoria Pendleton and Jason Kenny (who won gold in the team sprint alongside Hoy) were awarded MBEs

Ellen Hunter, who won two Gold medals at the Paralympics in her role as a tandem pilot, was also awarded an MBE for her service to disabled sport and Eddie Wingrave, a long-standing cycling volunteer, received an MBE for his invaluable lifelong contribution to the sport over the past five decades.
Dave Brailsford, commented on the day, “This is a truly special occasion and a real privilege for all of us here today who represent our sport. 
“I am extremely proud of the success of the GB Cycling Team in Beijing and we are already fully focused on training for London 2012 to secure a strong result on home soil.
“These Honours are very much a recognition of an individual, however, none of us would be here today without the support of the entire British Cycling team and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our colleagues for their hard work and commitment.
“I am also personally delighted to be here with Eddie Wingrave, whose efforts to develop cycling at the grass-roots level are so important to growing our sport and fueling elite success.”
A number of other GB Cycling Team Gold medalists collected their Honours from Buckingham Palace earlier in the year, and the remaining few will visit the Palace in the coming months.

Full list of Great Britain Cycling Team members honoured in the 2009 New Year List:

Chris Hoy Sir (KBE)
Bradley Wiggins CBE
Victoria Pendleton MBE
Rebecca Romero MBE
Jason Kenny MBE
Jamie Staff MBE
Ed Clancy MBE
Paul Manning MBE
Nicole Cooke MBE
Geraint Thomas MBE

Darren Kenny OBE
Sarah Storey OBE
Aileen McGlynn OBE
Jody Cundy MBE
Barney Storey MBE
David Stone MBE
Anthony Kappes MBE
Mark Bristow MBE
Simon Richardson MBE

Performance Director
David Brailsford CBE

Eddie Wingrave

Dave is a founding father of, having previously worked on Cycling Plus and What Mountain Bike magazines back in the day. He also writes about e-bikes for our sister publication ebiketips. He's won three mountain bike bog snorkelling World Championships, and races at the back of the third cats.

Latest Comments