Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Building a super bike

Hi and merry Xmas to everyone. I’ve decided to take my cycling more seriously after a few months on a relative’s bike. I’ve also got some money to spend so I would like a really nice bike even though I’m not a pro. In particular, I’m liking the Pinarello Dogma F10 X-Light but as a noob I virtually have no idea where to begin selecting some components.

I know I want a Dura Ace groupset though I’m not sure which one. Dura Ace wheels, probably tubular, but again not sure whether to go for C40/60. I’m leaning towards C60. Pros/cons?

I also need to pick other components but don’t know what to get. Could someone identify for me the components used on the X-Light on the Pinarello website and also on Chris Froome’s bike if there is a difference.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

79 comments

Canyon48 | 6 years ago
0 likes

Buying a full on race bike should come with a health warning; if you are over 80kg then you'll look a bit silly on a race bike (unless you have a physique like Marcel Kittel's or Andre Greipel's).

Seeing as you're after a bike very similar/identical to Chris Froome's, might I recommend the following?

https://www.facebook.com/FullProKitW/

Chris Hayes | 6 years ago
4 likes

Someone delete this thread.  And stop encouraging him.

jrg91 | 6 years ago
0 likes

I am “naturally” slim: 177 cm and around 60 kg. I work long hours including weekends which is why my fitness has taken a hit over the past couple years though I think it’s been coming back well with the cycling I’ve been doing and want to keep it up and build up to doing even more. Currently I’d say I’ve been doing around 8 hours a week, not sure about distance and speed though I do a fair bit of climbing.

fenix | 6 years ago
1 like

8 hours a week is probably more than most hobby cyclists.

jrg91 | 6 years ago