Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cycle Friendly, or not, workplace

I have been cycling to work for 3 years now and have never had a problem before. We have changing rooms with lockers and decent shower too, plus a radiator for drying towels. So sounds perfect right?

My workplace is situated on a massive Science Park, Loughborough. There is a blue cycle lane painted on the approach, shared path, to the security barriers. I do not need to use the barriers. The lane disappears for about 100 metres amd a sign is up saying to dismount. The blue cycle lane reappears within the site carpark, 10mph speed limit, and a cycle shed, sheffield stands, about 300 metres from the carpark entrance.

All well and good I hear you say.

Well until someone tried to run me off the road whilst approahing the science park,  and as luck would have it, they worked on site too, but at a different company. They continued to harrass me, tailgate me and swerve at me within the sites carpark.

I put in a formal complaint and submitted a photograph of the vehicle and a request to view the video footage wss sent by the HR dept. Okay procedure being followed.

This morning I was approached by security and told that all cyclists have to dismount at the gate and walk their bikes to the bike shed! I managed to speak with someoneI know who also cycles and they were told that it was due to an incident on site!

So tell me, is this the most crazy way for site security to deal with this situation?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

27 comments

David9694 | 7 months ago
2 likes

wretched. So is the moral here not to involve (create a problem for) site management? But if you go to the police, will it be spuriously pushed back because it's private land? 

Andrewbanshee replied to David9694 | 7 months ago
1 like