Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Standard clincher tyres?

Hi All

I am sorry for posting such a simple thread but I am new to cycling myself and am looking to replace the tyres on the bike I inherited lately. Trouble is, I am not sure what replacement tyres to buy.

The wheels I am running are Shimano R5OO Clinchers and the tyres that have been in place are Vittoria Zaffiros.

I was looking at getting some Vittoria Open Corsa but I did a webchat with Wiggle and they told me that I need standard clincher tyres rather than open clinchers. Problem is, when I have looked around I can't find many tyres that are marked up as standard clinchers. Was the chat correct?

Can any of you experienced cyclists give me a helping hand?

I am ideally looking for quite sporty tyres as I have a hybrid bike for commuting so this is just for my fun bike at weekends.

Cheers!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

21 comments

Batchy | 8 years ago
0 likes

OK! Just to say that you can also get Road CCs official opinions regarding Lithion 2s if you trawl through this site. Personally if there was only one make of tyre available I would be happy to use them just to be able to go cycling, regardless of comfort and expense, though I may not be able to afford a café stop ! Just pump up your rubber and go, that's all there is to it ! Amen !

st33lisr3al | 8 years ago
0 likes
mike the bike | 8 years ago
0 likes

Personally I don't much care which rubber the OP chooses in his search for a fairly sporty tyre, it's his money. But by golly, there's a heap of folk on here who get really wound up when offering advice.