Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New road bike, budget £1500

Hi All,

Looking at purchasing a new roade bike coming from a decathlon triban that  I have been using for a few years. I use this bike to commute to work and am looking at a weekend toy, tend to do 20-40 miles on the weekend.

I have a budget of £1500.  I intend to keep the bike for a few years looking to get into a 105 group set and disc breaks if possible (proving little difficult in my budget) Ideally Carbon frame but not discounting a good AL frame.

Went to Giant over the weekend looking at defy /TCR advanced 2. My surprise really liked the TCR only went on a 5 min ride round the block didnt find it to agressive.

Looking at this bike doesnt have disc breaks in this price of £1500

https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/tcr-advanced-2

happy to buy last years model with the desk breaks out but its  £1649.00 (£100 off)

https://www.rutlandcycling.com/bikes/road-bikes/giant-tcr-advanced-2-dis...

I still a novice the other brand been looking at is Canyon endurance and Rose bikes. Only thing is with it being online retalier not sure how I feel buying without sitting on it before hand. I am looking at the following:

CANYON ENDURANCE AL DISC 8.0 - better group set but with AL frame. but in budget at £1469

https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/road-bikes/#section-bikeModels

Queston - do Giant do any sales? will there be further sales to come. Happy to wait a little while ideally want to buy it buy end of Aug.

Are there any other bikes you would recommend in my price range, like i said still a novice going by online reviews. Sorry for long post any help much appreciated.

Thanks

Aj

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

19 comments

Aj19 | 4 years ago
0 likes