Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Campagnolo Record outer ring replacement

Hi,

I am looking to replace the 53t outer ring on my Campagnolo Record 10s chainset (year 2000) with a 50t one. I searched for information online, but I'm fairly new at this and I am still unsure which models are compatible, after reading about topics such as Campagnolo's comapact 112mm BCD and other compatibility issues experienced by others.

In my case, would I be able to fit any 5 arm 135 BCD 50t ring on my chainset or am I missing something? Recommendations for any specific 50t brands/model rings are appreciated.

Thank you.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

jpj84 | 4 years ago
0 likes

I'm not sure those comments are quite accurate: as far as I'm aware, all Campag 10 speed shifters/derailleurs are compatible with each other; whereas there are all sorts of compatibility issues between the 11 speed groups.

Eg3ftp1 | 4 years ago
0 likes

Yes, if you want to drop to a 50t big ring for that crankset, TA will be the only option I suspect. If this is a bike you like and want to keep going without nearby mechanics, it'll be worth getting the right BB tools and buying up any spares you see on eBay etc. Because campagnolo changed their BB standard, crankset design, ergo lever action, derailleur cable pull ratio, and basically everything so often from about 2000 to 2010 and going 11 speed, it's really hard to get the right spares. I gave up on my 2005 centaur ultra torque set and went to 11 speed chorus in the end. Whatever part I need, at least if it's campag and 11 speed I know it'll work as a swap-in replacement, which is not true of the 10 speed stuff.

Tortillaboy | 4 years ago
0 likes