Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Giro d'Italia Stage 14: Liquigas 1,2 as Vincenzo Nibali offers masterclass in descending and time trialling

Italian Liquigas-Doimo team rampant

After initial Italian media criticism that their cycling countrymen were doing nothing in this Giro d'Italia, Vincenzo Nibali of the Liquigas team broke away on the 25 km descent of the fearsome Monte Grappa, then rode a further 12 km to secure the solo win.

Chasing frantically, Cadel Evans (BMC) and Michele Scarponi (Androni) worked well together but the third part of their triumvirate Ivan Basso, also of the Liquigas team who understandably wasn't so cooperative, outsprinted his rivals to take the runner-up spot, 23 seconds later.

Yesterday's overall leader Richie Porte (Saxo Bank) blew a gasket on the climb of Monte Grappa but managed to limit his losses thanks to his team mate Sorensen. Nevertheless, he couldn't prevent David Arroyo (Caisse d'Epargne), who finished at 2:25 in a group of ten riders including Sky's Bradley Wiggins and Cervelo's Carlos Sastre, from taking over the maglia rosa. Wiggins is now 7th.

Giro d'Italia stage 14 brief result

1 Vincenzo Nibali       (Liquigas-Doimo)     4:57:51
2 Ivan Basso            (Liquigas-Doimo)     0:00:23
3 Michele Scarponi      (Androni Giocattoli)
4 Cadel Evans           (BMC)
5 Alexandre Vinokourov  (Astana)             0:01:34
6 Branislau Samoilau    (Quick Step)         0:02:25

Giro d'Italia 2010 brief overall after stage 14

1 David Arroyo Duran    (Caisse d'Epargne)  61:22:54
2 Richie Porte          (Saxo Bank)          0:00:39
3 Xavier Tondo Volpini  (Cervelo)            0:02:12
4 Robert Kiserlovski    (Liquigas-Doimo)     0:02:35
5 Linus Gerdemann       (Milram)             0:03:52
6 Carlos Sastre         (Cervelo)            0:05:27
7 Bradley Wiggins       (Sky)                0:06:32
8 Vincenzo Nibali       (Liquigas-Doimo)     0:06:51 


Latest Comments