Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Lizzie Armitstead and Chris Froome make BBC Sports Personality shortlist

Previous winners include Tom Simpson, Chris Hoy, Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins

Road world champion and World Cup winner Lizzie Armitstead and Tour de France champion Chris Froome have both made the short list for this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

It's a contest in which cyclists – helped perhaps most recently by savvy campaigns by fans on social media – have punched above their weight in recent years.

Armitstead, who also won the British road title, has enjoyed the season of her career – despite being aged just 26.

"A dream come true" - watch Lizzie Armitstead win the world championship

The last British rider, male or female, to win the rainbow jersey on the road before her was Mark Cavendish in 2011 – and he went on to take the Sports Personality award, too.

Froome, 30, meanwhile, became the first British rider to win the Tour de France twice.

Froome wants more Tour de France success

In 2012, he was runner-up to Sir Bradley Wiggins at the Tour de France, and also took bronze behind him in the time trial at the London Olympic Games.

Wiggins was named Sports Personality that year, and is the last cyclist to win it.

The other cyclists to have triumphed are Tom Simpson in 1965 – the year he became road world champion – and Sir Chris Hoy in 2008, when he won three gold medals at the Beijing Olympics.

"Speechless" Cav wins BBC Sports Personality

Lucy Bronze – Manchester City and England footballer who helped her country to third place at the World Cup.

Jessica Ennis-Hill – Olympic heptathlon champion, who won the world title in Beijing this year.

Mo Farah – Retained his 5,000m and 10,000m titles in Beijing, and is also reigning Olympic champion in both events.

Tyson Fury – Beat Wladimir Klitschko in Dusseldordf on Saturday to become Britain's seventh ever heavyweight world champion in boxing.

Lewis Hamilton – Won his third Formula 1 world title to join Sir Jackie Stewart as the country's most successful driver.

Andy Murray – Spearheaded Great Britain's first Davis Cup victory in 79 years this weekend against Belgium in Ghent (a city most of us would associate with cycling).

Adam Peaty – Became the first swimmer ever to win the 50m and 100m double at the world championships and also took gold in the mixed 4x100m medley relay.

Greg Rutherford – Is now world, Olympic, European and Commonwealth champion at the long jump, putting him alongside fellow athletes Daley Thompson, Linford Christie, Sally Gunnell and Jonathan Edwards as holders of all four titles in their event.

Kevin Sinfield – The rugby league legend led Leeds Rhino to the treble in his final season after two decades with the club.

Max Whitlock – The first ever British male gymnast to win world championship gold, taking the pommel horse event by just 0.01 points from team-mate Louis Smith.

The winner will be decided by public vote during the show on the evening of 20 December at the SSE Arena in Belfast.

Simon has been news editor at since 2009, reporting on 10 editions and counting of pro cycling’s biggest races such as the Tour de France, stories on issues including infrastructure and campaigning, and interviewing some of the biggest names in cycling. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, his background has proved invaluable in reporting on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, and the bike industry. He splits his time between London and Cambridge, and loves taking his miniature schnauzer Elodie on adventures in the basket of her Elephant Bike.

Latest Comments