Like this site? Help us to make it better.


ToC Stage 6: Leipheimer wins TT to strengthen grip on race

Race leader speeds towards overall win

Levi Leipheimer won today's time trial at the Tour of California by eight seconds from Dave Zabriskie of Columbia High Road.

As he crossed the line the winner of the last two Tours of California held up three fingers – this is the third time he's won this time trial in the ToC and his previous wins were preludes to winning the race. It also signalled his intention of making it a triple whammy of wins, if any such signal were needed.

Given the masterful display of time trialling that preceded it the gesture was more a promise than a threat as today's ride only served to reinforce his grip on the race. Leipheimer's Astana teamate, Lance Armstrong also put in a good ride to finishing strongly a minute and a quarter down on Leipheimer recording a time of 31:48 over the course in Solvang. However it was not enough to keep him in fourth place which is now occupied by Jens Voight of Saxo Bank, with Thomas Lövkvist of Columbia Highroad now up to fifth, Armstrong is sixth.

Zabriskie's ride got him second place on the stage it moved him up into second place in the provisional overall standings also pushing Michael Rogers (Team Columbia Highroad) down in to third. Rogers finished in a time of 31:02 enough for third place on the stage.

Top 10 ToC Stage 6

1 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Astana 30.41 (47.15km/h)
2 David Zabriskie (USA) Garmin - Slipstream 0.08
3 Gustav Larsson (Swe) Team Saxo Bank 0.17
4 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia - Highroad 0.22
5 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team Saxo Bank 0.30
6 George Hincapie (USA) Team Columbia - Highroad 0.36
7 Tom Zirbel (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling 0.39
8 Jason Mccartney (USA) Team Saxo Bank 0.41
9 Stef Clement (Ned) Rabobank 0.43
10 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Team Columbia - Highroad 0.51

Top 10 ToC General Classification ToC after Stage 6

1 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Astana 24.12.00
2 David Zabriskie (USA) Garmin - Slipstream 0.36
3 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia - Highroad 0.46
4 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team Saxo Bank 1.10
5 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Team Columbia - Highroad 1.29
6 Lance Armstrong (USA) Astana 1.46
7 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank 1.54
8 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana 1.59
9 Christopher Horner (USA) Astana 2.13
10 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Rock Racing 2.15

Tony has been editing cycling magazines and websites since 1997 starting out as production editor and then deputy editor of Total Bike, acting editor of Total Mountain Bike and then seven years as editor of Cycling Plus. He launched his first cycling website - the Cycling Plus Forum at the turn of the century. In 2006 he left C+ to head up the launch team for Bike Radar which he edited until 2008, when he co-launched the multi-award winning - which he continues to edit today. His favourite ride is his ‘commute’ - which he does most days inc weekends and he’s been cycle-commuting since 1994. His favourite bikes are titanium and have disc brakes.

Latest Comments