Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Cadel Evans seals Tirreno-Adriatico win as Cancellara and co gear up for Milan-San Remo

Links to full results to help you with selection of Fantasy Cycling team for Saturday's big race...

Former world champion Cadel Evans of BMC Racing today won the overall title in this year’s Tirreno Adriatico, keeping his rivals at bay during the final stage, a short individual time trial won in emphatic fashion by Fabian Cancellara of Leopard Trek.

The Swiss star, of course, has four rainbow jerseys to Evans’ one, all of them claimed in the individual time trial, but of course he with Philippe Gilbert one of the top classics specialists out there, wining both Paris-Roubaix and the Tour of Flanders in some style last year.

On Saturday, like Gilbert, Cancellara will be lining up at the start outside the Castello Sforzesco of the 102nd edition of Milan-San Remo, and the pair will be joined by many of those who competed in this week’s race from Italy’s Tyrrhenian coast to the Adriatic; the race has become established preparation for La Classicissima, and more often than not the Milan-San Remo winner will have competed in it.

With our 2011 Fantasy Cycling game starting on Saturday, it’s probably in your interests to cast your eyes over the form of some of the riders who have competed in the Tirreno-Adriatico over the past few days. The links folllowing the brief stage results below take you to the full results page on the Gazzetta dello Sport website.

And if you haven’t yet registered for the game, in which prizes from Evans Cycles are up for grabs, head over here and start putting your team together.

While each of the current riders to have won Milan-San Remo were competing in Italy over the past few days, including 2009 winner Mark Cavendish and current champion Oscar Freire, don’t forget that others such as Heinrich Haussler will have been talking part in Paris-Nice, so it’s worth checking those results too.

The final start list has not yet been released, although most of the teams competing – you can find a full list here, in the section of the Gazzetta dello Sport’s website dedicated to the race – will have announced their squads on their websites.

Look out for our full preview of the race tomorrow here on, together with expert tips on Milan-San Remo and Gent-Wevelgem by Team Sky’s Geraint Thomas, who will be acting as our resident expert pundit throughout the 2011 season to hopefully help you get the best out of your Fantasy Cycling team.

2011 Tirreno-Adriatico Final Overall Standings

1 Cadel Evans          BMC Racing        27h 37m 27s
2 Robert Gesink        Rabobank                  11s
3 Michele Scarponi     Lampre-ISD                15s
4 Ivan Basso           Liquigas-Cannondale       24s
5 Vincenzo Nibali      Liquigas-Cannondale       30s
6 Marco Pinotti        HTC-Highroad              39s
7 Tiago Machado        Team RadioShack           42s
8 Damiano Cunego       Lampre-ISD                50s
9 Philippe Gilbert     Omega Pharma-Lotto     1m 07s
10 Thomas Lovkvist     Team Sky               1m 08s

Stage 1: Team Time Trial, Marina di Carrara (16.8km)

1 Rabobank 18m 08s
2 Garmin-Cervelo 09s
3 HTC-Highroad 10s

Stage 2: Carrara - Indicatore (202km)

1 Tyler Farrar         Garmin-Cervelo     4h 56m 06s
2 Alessandro Petacchi  Lampre-ISD                 st
3 Juan Jose Haedo      Saxo Bank-SunGard          st

Stage 3: Terranova Bracciolini-Perugia (189km)

1 Juan Jose Haedo      Saxo Bank-SunGard  4h 39m 45s
2 Tyler Farrar         Garmin-Cervelo             st
3 Daniel Oss           Liquigas-Cannondale        st

Stage 4: Narni-Chieti (240km)

1 Michele Scarponi     Lampre-ISD         6h 10m 59s
2 Damiano Cunego       Lampre-ISD                 st
3 Cadel Evans          BMC Racing                 st

Stage 5: Chieti-Castelraimondo (244km)
1 Philippe Gilbert Omega Pharma-Lotto 6h 43m 23s 2 Wouter Poels Vacansoleil-DCM st 3 Damiano Cunego Lampre-ISD st
Stage 6: Ussita-Macerata (182km)
1 Cadel Evans BMC Racing 4h 37m 58s 2 Giovanni Visconti Farnese Vini-Neri Sottili st 3 Michele Scarponi Lampre-ISD st
Stage 7: Individual Time Trial, San Benedetto del Tronto (9.3km)
1 Fabian Cancellara Leopard Trek 10m 33s 2 Lars Boom Rabobank 10m 42s 3 Adriano Malori Lampre-ISD 10m 52s


Full standings:

Final GC

Stage 1

Stage 2

Stage 3

Stage 4

Stage 5

Stage 6

Stage 7


Simon joined as news editor in 2009 and is now the site’s community editor, acting as a link between the team producing the content and our readers. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, he has reported on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, the latest developments in the bike industry and the sport’s biggest races. Now back in London full-time after 15 years living in Oxford and Cambridge, he loves cycling along the Thames but misses having his former riding buddy, Elodie the miniature schnauzer, in the basket in front of him.

Add new comment


cat1commuter | 13 years ago

Great to see Cadel "Killer" Evans rack up another big win.

Latest Comments