Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Team GB Olympic Track lineup announced

Jason Kenny gets nod over Sir Chris Hoy for Men's Sprint, but Hoy will defend Team Sprint and Keirin titles...

Jason Kenny will contest the Men's Sprint at the London Olympics next month after being given the nod ahead of Sir Chris Hoy, the current Olympic Chamion, when the final Team GB track line up was announced this afternoon.

Sir Chris will ride in the Team Sprint, along with Kenny and Philip Hindes with Ross Edgar named as reserve, and will be Team GB's representative in the Keirin in which he is also the defending Olympic Champion.

Sir Chris Hoy struck a supportive note when commenting the final selection:
“Whilst I’m obviously disappointed not to be defending all three of my 2008 Olympic titles in London, Jason thoroughly deserves this opportunity and has a great chance of success in the sprint. I’m now focussed entirely on the Keirin and Team Sprint and my goals for these two events haven’t changed.”

As expected Victoria Pendleton and Jess Varnish are the British pair for the Women's team spring, with Becky James named as reserve. Pendleton is alsoTeam GB's representative in the keirin. Ed Clancy rides the Men's Omnium and Laura Trott the Women's Omnium.

Speaking of the final selection, British Cycling Performance Director Dave Brailsford said: “We have now finalised our selection for the track events and in particular we have made the decision over who will ride the Sprint. Both Chris and Jason are on great form and that made it a difficult choice but we have decided to select Jason to contest the sprint and Chris will concentrate on the Keirin. We believe this gives us the strongest team possible going into the Games.

Jason Kenny is the form man in the sprint coming in to the Games, and rode to silver medal position in the Mens Sprint at the Track World Championships earlier this year, behind Frenchman Gregory Bauge, he replaced Bauge as world champion last year when the UCI disqualified Bauge following his banning by the French Cycling Federation for wherabouts violations. It goes without saying that Bauge will be the big threat to Kenny in London too.

Men’s Team Sprint
Philip Hindes
Sir Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny
(Reserve – Ross Edgar)

Women’s Team Sprint
Victoria Pendleton
Jess Varnish
(Reserve – Becky James)

Men’s Team Pursuit
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Pete Kennaugh
Andy Tennant
Geraint Thomas

Women’s Team Pursuit
Wendy Houvenaghel
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott

Men’s Sprint
Jason Kenny

Women’s Sprint
Victoria Pendleton

Men’s Keirin
Sir Chris Hoy

Women’s Keirin
Victoria Pendleton

Men’s Omnium
Ed Clancy

Women’s Omnium
Laura Trott's founder and first editor, nowadays to be found riding a spreadsheet. Tony's journey in cycling media started in 1997 as production editor and then deputy editor of Total Bike, acting editor of Total Mountain Bike and then seven years as editor of Cycling Plus. He launched his first cycling website - the Cycling Plus Forum at the turn of the century. In 2006 he left C+ to head up the launch team for Bike Radar which he edited until 2008, when he co-launched the multi-award winning - finally handing on the reins in 2021 to Jack Sexty. His favourite ride is his ‘commute’ - which he does most days inc weekends and he’s been cycle-commuting since 1994. His favourite bikes are titanium and have disc brakes, though he'd like to own a carbon bike one day.

Add new comment


shot18 | 11 years ago

Really looking forward to the Games - especially in the Velodrome. The Brits have a great chance, but it's by no means a foregone conclusion.... the rest of the world have really closed the gap since Beijing. Will be really exciting

Latest Comments