Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Upgrade groupset or not worth it???

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here. I have a Giant Defy 2 that is about 8 years old. Nothing wrong with the frame and I have recently upgraded the wheels to feel a bit zippier. I just changed the cassette and chain but the gears still feel very clunky. The bike shop has told me that to get the cleaner, faster gear changes I am looking for I would need to upgrade my standard groupset to something like Shimano 105's. Happy to do this but at £300-400 I wonder whether it is more economical to pick up a new bike, say something a couple of years old for around £1000. It seems a shame as I love the bike and there's nothing wrong with the frame but what I fear is the upgrade not giving enough of an improvement in the ride.

Any thoughts and advice on this welcome please.

Thanks!

Ross

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

AfterPeak | 4 years ago
2 likes

If you hadn't just brought a new chain and cassette I would have said buy a new groupset. They come with them so the cost isn't too bad for say 105. I would replace the cables (and outers) and ride the bike into the ground and save your money for a new bike

ktache replied to AfterPeak | 4 years ago
1 like

New cables is never a bad idea.  Good ones too.

bechdan replied to ktache | 4 years ago
1 like

Agreed no need to upgrade from the Tiagra, make sure the pivot points are all clean and lightly lubed, then fit new cables and outers, if you've got cash to splash try Jagwire pro gear set, make sure you've got a decent pair of cable cutters too.

rb982 replied to bechdan | 4 years ago
0 likes

My mistake/typo, sorry. I have a Defy 3, not 2, so Sora not Tiagra.

Thanks for the comments so far!

werics replied to rb982 | 4 years ago
0 likes