Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Tyre Advice

I'd be grateful for any advice you may have to offer. I'm new to cycling, having bought a hybrid bike last summer, and I'm starting to struggle on rides of more than 30miles or so as I'm training for a 60mile local sportive

I'm probably just unfit but I wondered about the resistance I'm encountering with the tires that came on the bike. They're fairly knobbly (not as much as MTB) 7000*35C tires. The shop where I bought it suggested I could downsize to a 700*28 tire on the rims I have on the wheels.

I wondered how much effect would it have to go to a narrower, slicker and higher pressure tire? Enough to make it worthwhile or shall I save the pennies for a proper roadbike later this year?

If its worthwhile, any suggestions on suitable tires?

Thanks a lot

Dan

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

Pisiform | 12 years ago
0 likes

I wanted to update this threat in case anyone in the same position as I was stumbles across it.

Given the unanimity of response to my question I opted to buy new tyres. I bought a pair of Continental GP4seasons 28c + new tubes mainly because they have great reviews and were on a special offer at Wiggle.

Incidentally full marks to Wiggle who received the order on Wednesday pm and delivered the goods on Friday morning on their free postage scheme - very impressive.

Tested them out yesterday on a 25mile ride on lumpyish terrain but no big climbs.

What I found was:

- no difference at all on the inclines, or none discernible anyway. Clearly this is when gravity has the biggest impact on performance and I was in a headwind uphill yesterday so road resistance would clearly have been a very minor factor in performance