Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Gilet vs Jacket for spring riding

I am new to road cycling, having just purchased my first road specific bike and the essential i.e. jersey, bib shorts/tights, base layer, helmet etc.

I've noticed on a few rides, particularly in the evenings, I am in need of an extra layer for warmth and protection from the wind and elements.

As a complete novice, however, I am struggling to determine whether I'd be better with a wind proof jacket or a gilet. On weekends I ride mostly during the day time, but I do also ride at night during the week, which understandably is a lot cooler.

What are the pros and cons of each option? And what do the more experienced riders in this forum prefer to use?

Would a gilet provide sufficient protection from the elements, and particularly the cold?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

5 comments

leipreachan | 4 years ago
1 like

Gilet: when you're considering taking it off later or not sure if you need it at all

Jaket: when jersey's not enough. And yeah, merino baselayer is a thing. You can wear it between -5 up to +15.

OnTheRopes | 4 years ago
1 like

This time of the year it can be quite a quandary deciding what to wear, particularly if setting off earlyish in the morning when things may warm up.

What I tend to do is go get the bike out of the garage and try and judge it stood ouitside then make my decision on clothing based on that.

I always take a gilet, a very light weight one such as the Castelli Squadra which at 66g packs in a back pocket and you don't know it's there.

If its cool I will probably wear a long sleeved Roubaix type top with a short sleeve vest underneath. Shorts with leg warmers or longs. If I think it's going to warm up then a short sleeve top with arm warmers.