Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Derby’s Moorways Stadium stages international level racing for first time

Cyclo-cross National Trophy is Sunday

Thousands of cycling fans are expected to enjoy top-class professional and amateur cycling this Sunday at Derby’s Moorways Stadium, which is hosting the second round of the British Cycling National Trophy Cyclo-Cross series.

The international cyclo-cross event, which will involve racers at Moorways tackling laps littered with obstacles, is part of a six-race series held annually across the country.

Last year's final round, held in January at Markeaton Park, attracted 3,000 people, as well as 250 racers, and this will be the first time that Moorways' steeply banked stadium has staged racing at this level.

Course designer Ben Eedy of South Pennine RC is the current Notts and Derby Cyclo-Cross League Champion and riders can expect a challenging course.

The track grandstand will provide a comfortable viewing point and the races will start and finish on a long tarmac straight which will give the riders chance to spread out before hitting a series of grassy banks which they will need to climb. Between races there will be plenty of activities to interest families.

The races include the Junior Trophy, Women's Trophy, Youth Trophy, Veteran Trophy, Veteran 50+ Trophy, and Senior/U23 Trophy.

It will not just be the pros racing on the day either. The main event will be complemented by the Cycle Derby youngsters races over the road in Osmanton Park, where up to 200 young cyclists, as well as local schools, will take in their own amateur competitions.

BMX biker Lauren Smith, of Cycle Derby, has been involved in persuading schools to enter the event and the races will include at least five primary schools – Becket Primary, Borrow Wood Junior, Allenton Primary, Breadsall C of E Primary and Munday C of E Primary – in a series of individual and relay races.

The Osmanton Park races include the Primary Schools individual race, Secondary Schools individual race, Primary Schools relay race, Secondary Schools relay race, Under 12 National Trophy race, Clubs relay race, and Scouts race.

The course will be open on Sunday for practice at 9.30am and the events at both venues start at 10am and are scheduled to finish at 3.30pm, and admission is free.

The professional races are organised by local cycle clubs Derby Mercury, South Pennine and Heanor Clarion. The event is sponsored by the East Midlands Development Agency.

Latest Comments