Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Mark Cavendish set to return to racing as he's named in field for road national championship next month

British Cycling names Manx Missile among riders taking part in flagship event


British Cycling has today announced that Mark Cavendish – out of action since March with glandular fever – is among the field for this year’s national road championships, which take place on his native Isle of Man next month.

The Dimension Data rider, winner of the national championship in Glasgow in 2013, is due to take to the start line on Sunday 25 July – less than a week before the Tour de France begins – alongside a field also including two-time national champion and fellow Manxman Peter Kennaugh of Team Sky.

Five other Team Sky riders – Jonathan Dibben, Owain Doull, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard and reigning under-23 champion, Tao Geoghegan Hart – will also race, as will defending champion Adam Blythe of Aqua Blue.

The field for the women’s race, which takes place the same day, is headed by former world and British champion Lizzie Deignan of Boels Dolmans, alongside last year’s winner, the Canyon SRAM rider Hannah Barnes.

Thursday 22 June will see Alex Dowsett of Movistar and Team WNT Pro Cycling’s Hayley Simmonds aim to win the men's and women's time trial title, respectively, for the third year running.

 If Dowsett is successful, it would be a record sixth national title for the rider from Essex, while Simmonds will face a challenge from two of Team GB’s Rio gold medallists in the team pursuit – her WNT team mate, Katie Archibald and Elinor Barker of Matrix Fitness.

Jonny Clay, British Cycling’s director of cycling, said: “It’s fantastic to be able to announce a field of this quality for the 2017 HSBC UK | National Road Championships.

“The calibre of the riders who will be taking to the start line speaks volumes for both the health of road racing in Great Britain and the draw of a championships taking place in such an iconic venue which is synonymous with our sport.

“We are sure that cycling fans will share in our excitement and turn out in huge numbers to help make this a truly memorable championships.”

Laurence Skelly MHK, Minister for the Isle of Man Department of Economic Development, added: “It’s fantastic to see our home-grown cycling heroes returning to the Island’s shores this year and I’m delighted that cycling fans will be able to see international athletes take to our famous TT course. Riders and fans alike are sure of a warm Manx welcome this June.”

Simon joined as news editor in 2009 and is now the site’s community editor, acting as a link between the team producing the content and our readers. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, he has reported on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, the latest developments in the bike industry and the sport’s biggest races. Now back in London full-time after 15 years living in Oxford and Cambridge, he loves cycling along the Thames but misses having his former riding buddy, Elodie the miniature schnauzer, in the basket in front of him.

Add new comment


FatBoyW | 7 years ago

Haha, just answered my own question AND all the details above are wrong.

first BC national TT 1995.

most wins?.... Good old Stuart Dangerfield with SIX!

read it and weep!


PS do you start to understand how BC could mess up doctors records etc - re the sky debacle? A complex organisation that runs on not so much dosh as you might think! It ant even get its own records straight!

FatBoyW | 7 years ago

No, it's not that Beryl was so fantastic, it's the fact that BC or BCF as was only starting running a TT championship recently. Check out K Dawson or I Camish or the very funny M Hutchinson for better records than Dowsett's.

it does make a bit of a mess of the record books to be fair.

the traditional True TT champion is surely the BBAR winner, Kevin D won that at least ten times - legend! (Best British All Rounder)

so there we have it, in the BC organised National TT race, running since ... not sure - might be only 1997, Dowsett has won it the most.

if you ignore the the cycling time trials records you ignore the proper history of our sport in this country, anyway I've mentioned it now!

can someone enlighten me on how long BC been running these champs?

Zebulebu | 7 years ago

Double post

Zebulebu | 7 years ago
1 like

Chill out

I'm as much in awe of Beryl Burton's achievements as anyone, but this is clearly referring to the men's title, not the women's. If Elinor Barker were going for her sixth title and that were a record, it would have been mentioned. The fact that Dowsett's WOULD be a record if he won is why it's been highlighted

BehindTheBikesheds | 7 years ago
1 like

with all due respect how can you state that Dowsett would have  a 'record breaking' sixth British title in the TT if he wins when the record no. of British time trial titles is far far in excess of this?

Try 18 times national 100-mile champion, 23 times national ‘50′ champion and 26 times the 25-mile champion.

Dowsett could only dream to be as good as the record British cycling TT title holder so please amend your article, or did cycling only start for you in the last 30 years or so?

Sniffer | 7 years ago

Typo on the date above.  Think it will be 25th June not July.

Latest Comments